Home Breadcrumb Separator Image Candidates Breadcrumb Separator Image FAQs Breadcrumb Separator Image Lean Six Sigma

Lean Six Sigma

Which exams do not need to go through a training provider and allow me to self-study?
The Lean Six Sigma exams require no pre-requisites, no specific training and no proof of project work, although training with an Accredited Training Organization for the Black Belt exam is highly recommended. To check the syllabus for each exam, please click here.
Where can I find sample exams?
Click here to see sample exams.
How long does the exam take?
Exam times vary depending on the level. Click here for a quick overview of each exam.
Are the exam questions multiple choice, essay style or both?
All questions are multiple choice.
Are the exams Open Book?
No. IASSC provides a Reference Document in either paper or electronic form, subject to which form of exam one is taking. This document contains all formulas and tables one will need during the examination. Scratch paper is included in this document and must be discarded or returned to the Proctor before the candidate leaves the Testing Center. If taking a paper based exam one may bring a arithmetic only calculator into the Testing Center.
When will I receive the mark from my exam?
Results are sent within 2 business days upon receipt of the exam papers.
What is Lean Six Sigma Certification?
Lean Six Sigma is a proven business strategy that seeks to improve measurable results and to enhance the quality of process outputs by identifying and removing the causes of defects (errors) and minimizing variability in business processes.
What is the Blooms Taxonomy?
In 1956, Benjamin Bloom headed a group of educational psychologists who developed a classification of levels of intellectual behavior important in learning. Bloom found that over 95% of the test questions students encounter require them to think only at the lowest possible level…  the recall of information.

Bloom identified six levels within the cognitive domain from the simple recall or recognition of facts, at the lowest level, through increasingly more complex and abstract mental levels, to the highest order which is classified as evaluation.
Levels of Cognition based on Bloom’s Taxonomy – Revised (2001) These levels are from “Levels of Cognition” (from Bloom’s Taxonomy – Revised, 2001). They are listed in order from the least complex to the most complex.
Remember: Recall or recognize terms, definitions, facts, ideas, materials, patterns, sequences, methods, principles, etc.
Understand: Read and understand descriptions, communications, reports, tables, diagrams, directions, regulations, etc.
Apply: Know when and how to use ideas, procedures, methods, formulas, principles, theories, etc.

Analyze: Break down information into its constituent parts and recognize their relationship to one another and how they are organized; identify sublevel factors or salient data from a complex scenario.
Evaluate: Make judgments about the value of proposed ideas, solutions, etc., by comparing the proposal to specific criteria or standards.
Create: Put parts or elements together in such a way as to reveal a pattern or structure not clearly there before; identify which data or information from a complex set is appropriate to examine further or from which supported conclusions can be drawn.
Why has IASSC elected not to have project experience a part of their Certification requirements?
The Certification Board of Directors made a sincere effort to create a viable “application ability assessment”; or, what is commonly referred to in the industry as a “project requirement”.

The issues for project acceptability were: defining “minimum qualifying tools application”, minimum key metric improvement, minimum standards for improvement sustenance as well as a number of other metrics applicable to a Lean Six Sigma project. A method of validating compliance with each key metric could not be established. Therefore, as is foundational to Six Sigma, if the Measurement System cannot be established to an acceptable degree of accuracy and precision, then nothing of value can be said about the issue.

In addition to these concerns were the potential, and likely, proprietary nature of the information contained in a LSS project and the sponsoring firm’s reluctance to allow such projects to be submitted in a format whereby their substance could be assessed. While acceptance of a Project Summary or a Project Affidavit were considered, it was concluded there is no viable means of assuring the validity of such a submittal therefore IASSC could make no definitive statement as to the candidate’s competency based on such a submittal.

With all these issues considered, the Board decided IASSC, and anyone else for that matter, is capable of commenting solely on one’s knowledge relative to the LSSBOK™ and not on their ability to apply such knowledge. That will have to be assessed through other mechanisms.
What is the Universally Accepted Lean Six Sigma Body of Knowledge™?
The ILSSBOK is a document, developed by the industry and organized by IASSC, that defines the knowledge requirements of a Lean Six Sigma exam.
The ILSSBOK is continually updated to ensure that it maintains an accurate alignment with industry standards.
Why are there no pre-requisites to sit for the Certification exams?
The sole objective of the exams is to measure knowledge not work or project experience.
IASSC Certification Exams are developed to assess a person’s knowledge as it relates to the subjects defined in the ILSSBOK. While things such as work experience and application experience are helpful in obtaining the knowledge required to successfully complete the exams, they are not requirements.
Do I get a discount for examination retakes?
No.Retakes are priced at the stated fees, as decided by IASSC.
How many times can I retake the ICBB, ICGB or ICYB exam?
There is no limitation or time restriction on examination retakes.
How many correct answers are needed to pass the exam?
Candidates need a 70% score to pass the exam (questions are marked based on a difficulty level of 1-3).
In what language are the exams available?
All exams are available in English. IASSC Certified Green Belt exams are also available in French.