Home Breadcrumb Separator Image Test Takers Breadcrumb Separator Image Lean IT Breadcrumb Separator Image What is Lean IT

What is Lean IT?

Lean IT certifications are offered by the Lean IT Association, a non-profit organisation founded by three Examination Institutes  – PEOPLECERT, APMG and EXIN, along with three Accredited Training Organisations - ITpreneurs, Pink Elephant, and Quint Wellington Redwood.

The goal of Lean IT is to continuously improve the value delivered by IT organisations to their customers and the professionalism of IT people.


Who is Lean IT for?

The Lean IT certification scheme is aimed at practitioner organisations looking to adopt Lean IT principles in the IT Service development and operations department. It is also aimed at professionals looking  to become certified in Lean IT on various levels.


What are the Lean IT certification levels?

The Lean IT certification scheme consists of 4 distinct certifications for various levels, starting at entry level with Lean IT Foundation.

More advanced levels include

  • Lean IT Kaizen
  • Lean IT Leadership
  • Lean IT Coach

Each level introduces more knowledge and skills, eventually leading up to competences that enable a professional to support corporate introduction or development of Lean IT implementations.

Lean IT Scheme


Order Exam

Find Training

You might also like

TRIM - The Rational IT Model™



Frequently Asked Questions

What LEAN IT exams are currently available from the Lean IT Association (LITA)?
Currently the Foundation and Kaizen exams are available. There will be 4 distinct certifications for various levels, starting at entry level with Lean IT Foundation and moving into Lean IT Kaizen, climbing further up the ladder to Lean IT Leadership or Coach.
Are there any additional offerings from LITA?
To realise its broader purpose, LITA aims to provide an industry-standard set of Lean IT reference materials and other resources for practitioner organisations to use:
  • A clear understanding of the value and positioning of Lean IT relative to other bodies of knowledge, frameworks and standards
  • A certification scheme aimed at practitioner organizations looking to adopt Lean IT principles in the IT Service development and operations department as well as professionals who want to be certified in Lean IT on various levels.
Is a LITA exam the same at PEOPLECERT, APMG or EXIN?
Yes, LITA exams will be the same across all three Examination Institutes. The Consortium was founded to set a global standard for Lean IT education and certification.
I have a lot of experience in this area – could I take a Lean IT exam without taking the class?
No. Training is mandatory for all Lean IT exams.
Are there any practice exams available?
Yes, there is a sample paper available.
How long will it take for me to receive my exam results?
Provisional results are available immediately after you finish the exam and official results are available within 2 business days.
I have done a Lean IT Foundation exam at EXIN. Can I use this exam as a prerequisite for an advanced exam?
Yes, existing EXIN and APMG Lean IT Foundation exams will be recognised by the scheme.
What if I do not pass the exam? Can I retake?
You may take the exam as many times as you wish.
Is there a maximum number of times I am allowed to take the exam?
No, you may take the exam as many times as you need to.
When will I receive my certificate?
Your online certificate will be available for you to download within two business days upon successful exam completion. A printed copy will be mailed to you shortly afterwards.
Are there any renewals or updates I will need to do once I am certified to make sure my certification status stays current?
Currently there are no requirements for re-certification.