Home Breadcrumb Separator Image Test Takers Breadcrumb Separator Image IELTS Breadcrumb Separator Image IELTS Test Types

Two Types of ...


Choose from IELTS Academic or IELTS General Training

IELTS Academic

IELTS Academic is for people planning to study in higher education or seeking professional registration. It assesses whether you are ready to begin studying or training in an environment where English is the language used.

IELTS Academic doesn't assume that test takers have already mastered (or even partly have) the range of skills they are likely to need at college or university. For this reason, while the test reflects some of the features of academic language, it does not aim to simulate academic study tasks in their entirety. This approach is widely supported by the institutions that recognize IELTS.

IELTS General Training

IELTS General Training focuses on basic survival skills in broad social and workplace contexts. It is typically for those who are going to English-speaking countries to do secondary education, work experience or training programs. People migrating to Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the UK must take the General Training test. It should be noted that professional organizations normally require an Academic test result for registration and migration purposes.

A test of your skills

IELTS is a task-based test covering the four language skills (listening, reading, writing and speaking). Test takers receive individual scores for each of the four test components