The world’s most widely used IT Service Management framework

ITIL 4: supporting organizations on their journey to digital transformation

ITIL 4 has launched!

ITIL 4, the latest evolution of ITIL, is a community and industry-led initiative with contribution of experts around the globe from the wider IT industry. ITIL 4 builds on the strengths of ITIL to provide a tool that supports organizations in the era of digital transformation.

It encompasses emerging practices, such as Lean, Agile and DevOps and it will evolve to provide an end-to-end IT/Digital Operating Model, covering the full delivery (and sustaining) of tech-enabled products and services, guiding how IT interfaces with, and even leads, the wider business strategy.

ITIL 4 exams are exclusively available through PeopleCert.

Here’s what ITIL 4 helps with
  • Digital transformation

  • Improving processes

  • Helping teams work more collaboratively

  • Transparency between IT operations and development teams

  • Enabling automation

  • Integrating new and emerging technologies and practices



  • Retains the fundamental elements that make ITIL so valuable
  • Has a streamlined certification scheme
  • Provides a straight-forward transition path from ITIL v3


How does ITIL 4 work?

ITIL 4 is the next iteration that expands IT and service operations to a new level. Moving from traditional process-led delivery, ITIL 4 supports faster quality and value driven delivery for people and organisations. ITIL 4 will be much more relevant to software developers, service management practitioners and organisations as it promotes a holistic way of working to deliver products and services.

The new certification takes you through a service value system which provides an integrated picture of what it really means to contribute to business value. ITIL 4 will provide candidates with an understanding of:

  • A holistic approach to the facilitation of value for product and service delivery
  • The Guiding Principles of ITIL 4
  • The four dimensions of service management
  • Key concepts from Lean IT, Agile and DevOps
  • The expansion from ITIL processes to practices


Get Started


The first release of ITIL 4 is the Foundation level, launched 28 February 2019. The following levels are due for release in H2 2019. The certification scheme is aligned with ITIL v3 and has been streamlined to provide clear paths for practitioners to continue their ITIL journey.


ITIL 4 Foundation

Designed as an introduction to ITIL 4, it enables candidates to look at IT Service Management through an end-to-end operating model for the creation, delivery and continual improvement of tech-enabled products and services.

ITIL 4 Foundation equips candidates with:

  • A holistic approach to the facilitation of co-creation of value with customers and other stakeholders in the form of products and services
  • The guiding principles of ITIL 4
  • The four dimensions of Service Management
  • Key concepts from Lean, Agile, DevOps, and why these are important to deliver business value
  • How ITIL practices described in ITIL 4 will maintain the value and importance provided by the current ITIL processes, whilst at the same time expand to be integrated to different areas of service management and IT, from demand to value.
Are you ITIL certified?

Get re-certified for ITIL 4