Cyber Resilience Manager

Cyber Resilience Managers lead the roll-out of cyber resilience policies and working practices to ensure protection and security of information assets. They interface with colleagues in the IT and network teams as well as with leaders in the business to share the corporate cyber resilience vision and solicit their collaboration in achieving higher levels of enterprise security and resilience. 

Cyber resilience and security is a growing issue and area of risk. Cyber Resilience Managers can be responsible for building awareness across the workforce along with the skills needed to keep information safe. Depending on the size of the organization, they may manage a team of consultants and analysts. 

Typical Tasks

  • Build cyber resilience into IT and business policies and procedures
  • Align controls with resilience and security frameworks e.g. RESILIA, ISO27001
  • Manage cyber resilience and information risk assessments
  • Lead penetration tests to identify vulnerabilities and test cyber resilience controls
  • Establish regular reporting and metrics
  • Represent cyber resilience on Change Advisory Board
  • Supervise investigations into security incidents
  • Design of cyber resilience awareness learning.

Potential Next Steps

Chief Information Security Manager, IT Operations Manager, Cyber Resilience Consultant.

How to get there

AXELOS professional certifications are recognized worldwide by employers as an indicator of your skills and commitment as an ITSM professional. The following certifications are relevant for professionals working in cyber resilience and will support your development into more senior roles:

RESILIA™ Foundation

  • Introduction to cyber resilience.
  • How decisions impact good/bad cyber resilience.

Learn More About RESILIA™ Foundation

RESILIA™ Practitioner

  • What does effective cyber resilience look like?
  • What are the risks and issues that can easily hit cyber resilience?
  • How to get the best balance of risk, cost, benefits and flexibility within an organization.

Learn More About RESILIA™ Practitioner

ITIL® Foundation

ITIL fundamentals including the five core ITIL lifecycle stages:

  • Service Strategy
  • Service Design
  • Service Transition
  • Service Operation
  • Continual Service Improvement.

Learn More About ITIL® Foundation

Service Strategy

  • Align the IT strategy with business goals and outcomes
  • Investigate and decide on which services to provide
  • Analyze which services are no longer viable and when they should be retired
  • Identify, manage and communicate the cost of providing services
  • Evaluate the financial impact of new or changed strategies
  • Secure funding to manage the provision of service
  • Manage and report expenditure on service provision
  • Account for money spent on the creation, delivery and support of services.

Learn More About Service Strategy

Service Operation / Operational Support and Analysis

  • Support service components
  • Execute operation control activities to manage and deliver services
  • Maintain user satisfaction with IT services
  • Determine the appropriate control action for events
  • Ensure actions for events are communicated to the appropriate functions
  • Automatically detect incidents before an outage occurs
  • Enhance business perception of IT through use of a professional approach.

Learn More About Service Operation

Learn More About Operational Support and Analysis

Continual Service Improvement

  • Identify opportunities for improving services, processes and tools
  • Reduce the cost of providing services
  • Ensure that IT services enable the required business outcomes
  • Identify what needs to be measured, analyzed and reported for improvement.

Learn More About Continual Service Improvement