Lean Six Sigma

Learn how to introduce, apply & adapt Lean Six Sigma within an organisation

Lean Six Sigma

Solve problems, streamline processes and deliver value to customers

Lean Six Sigma is a process improvement programme that combines two ideas: Lean - a collection of techniques for reducing the time needed to provide products or services, and Six Sigma - a collection of techniques for improving the quality of products and services, substantially contributing to increased customer satisfaction.

By combining the two, Lean Six Sigma is a proven business management strategy that helps organisations operate more efficiently. Lean Six Sigma is a proven business strategy that seeks to improve measurable results and to enhance the quality of process outputs by identifying and removing the causes of defects (errors) and minimising variability in business processes.

According to many business analysts and quality improvement experts, Lean Six Sigma is the most popular business performance methodology in the history of corporate development.

IASSC provides unbiased independent third-party validation of Lean Six Sigma knowledge through the globally recognised Lean Six Sigma Black Belt, Green Belt and Yellow Belt Certifications, aiming to measure a person’s knowledge of the topics contained within the IASSC Lean Six Sigma Body of Knowledge™.

Who is Lean Six Sigma for?

Lean Six Sigma is aimed at professionals wishing to understand and apply the Lean Six Sigma principles and instruments in order to work effectively with, or as a member of, a process improvement team. Lean Six Sigma is suitable for:

· Improvement Managers

· Operational Line Managers

· Team Managers

· Project Managers

· Programme Managers

· Change Managers

· Finance Managers

· IT Managers

· HR Managers


Lean Six Sigma benefits

· Improve efficiency and remove waste by refining processes using Lean

· Improve quality and consistency by reducing process variation

· Minimise process waste and variation and add value to customers

· Improve performance and reduce timescales


Lean Six Sigma Certification levels

Based on today’s need for independent, globally recognised certification, the International Association for Six Sigma Certification (IASSC) has developed three certification levels, designed to measure a person’s knowledge of the Lean Six Sigma methodology.

Lean Six Sigma Yellow Belt

Lean Six Sigma Green Belt

Lean Six Sigma Black Belt

Lean Six Sigma Frequently Asked Questions

Lean Six Sigma Frequently Asked Questions

Which exams do not need to go through a training provider and allow me to self-study?

The Lean Six Sigma exams require no pre-requisites, no specific training and no proof of project work, although training with an Accredited Training Organisation for the Black Belt exam is highly recommended.

How long does the exam take?

Exam times vary depending on the level. Please check each level separately for a quick overview of each exam.

Are the exam questions multiple choice, essay style or both?

All questions are multiple choice.

Are the exams Open Book?

No. IASSC provides a Reference Document in either paper or electronic form, subject to which form of exam one is taking. This document contains all formulas and tables one will need during the examination. Scratch paper is included in this document and must be discarded or returned to the Proctor before the candidate leaves the Testing Centre. If taking a paper based exam one may bring an arithmetic only calculator into the Testing Center.

When will I receive the mark from my exam?

Results are sent within 2 business days upon receipt of the exam papers.

Why has IASSC elected not to have project experience a part of their Certification requirements?

The Certification Board of Directors made a sincere effort to create a viable “application ability assessment”; or, what is commonly referred to in the industry as a “project requirement”.

The issues for project acceptability were: defining “minimum qualifying tools application”, minimum key metric improvement, minimum standards for improvement sustenance as well as a number of other metrics applicable to a Lean Six Sigma project. A method of validating compliance with each key metric could not be established. Therefore, as is foundational to Six Sigma, if the Measurement System cannot be established to an acceptable degree of accuracy and precision, then nothing of value can be said about the issue.

In addition to these concerns were the potential, and likely, proprietary nature of the information contained in a LSS project and the sponsoring firm’s reluctance to allow such projects to be submitted in a format whereby their substance could be assessed. While acceptance of a Project Summary or a Project Affidavit were considered, it was concluded there is no viable means of assuring the validity of such a submittal therefore IASSC could make no definitive statement as to the candidate’s competency based on such a submittal.

With all these issues considered, the Board decided IASSC, and anyone else for that matter, is capable of commenting solely on one’s knowledge relative to the LSSBOK™ and not on their ability to apply such knowledge. That will have to be assessed through other mechanisms.

What is the Universally Accepted Lean Six Sigma Body of Knowledge™?

The ILSSBOK is a document, developed by the industry and organized by IASSC, that defines the knowledge requirements of a Lean Six Sigma exam.

The ILSSBOK is continually updated to ensure that it maintains an accurate alignment with industry standards.

Why are there no pre-requisites to sit for the Certification exams?

The sole objective of the exams is to measure knowledge not work or project experience.

IASSC Certification Exams are developed to assess a person’s knowledge as it relates to the subjects defined in the ILSSBOK. While things such as work experience and application experience are helpful in obtaining the knowledge required to successfully complete the exams, they are not requirements.

Do I get a discount for examination retakes?

No.Retakes are priced at the stated fees, as decided by IASSC.

How many times can I retake the ICBB, ICGB or ICYB exam?

There is no limitation or time restriction on examination retakes.

How many correct answers are needed to pass the exam?

Candidates need a 70% score to pass the exam (questions are marked based on a difficulty level of 1-3).

In what language are the exams available?

All exams are available in English. IASSC Certified Green Belt exams are also available in French.